Article: XXE Vulnerabilities. №1
by OstapBender - Friday December 15, 2023 at 04:16 PM
Good afternoon, dear forum members!
Before we start looking at a very interesting and complex topic, I'd like to say a few words. It's quite possible that I'm going to be doing bullshit, but even if I am, this is something that can be dropped at any time and just rest. Just in case someone could use it! Now I'll get directly to the topic of the article.
XXE
When I studied XXE vulnerabilities, this topic left an indelible imprint on my mind and cost a decent amount of hair pulled out of my ass, well you get the picture. This topic was one of the ones that caused the most pain and destroyed a large number of nerve cells. Let's try to understand this type of vulnerability together today using a simple example.
XML External Entity (XXE) is a type of attack that exploits vulnerabilities in XML analyzers. An XXE attack can inject specially crafted XML content into the application that processes it. XXE allows objects to be identified based on the contents of a URL or file path. When the server reads the injected XML payload, it analyzes the external object, merges it with the final document, and returns it to the user with sensitive data inside.
Typically, applications without proper input validation and without external entity processing disabled in the XML parser are vulnerable to XXE. However, many XML parsers already have protection against XXE attacks.
XXE TYPES
XXE attacks are categorized into types based on what method is used to deliver the payload and what impact it has on penetration testing. There are 6 types of XXE attacks:
1. File Extraction - The most trivial application in which we can extract files from the target server
2. SSRF Attacks - using XXE attacks to perform SSRF (Server-Side Request Forgery) type attacks.